Chemins de Grandes Randonnees Long hiking trails

Hike around the Causse Mejean throughout Lozere from Meyrueis to Mas Saint-Chely via Les Herans, St Pierre-des-Tripiers, Rieisse, Rouveret, Montignac and Anilhac. Gite d'etape, Guest House, Bed and Breakfast, Hotel, Camping, Shelter, Inn.

Long Hiking Trails / Long Distance Footpaths

Roundtrip of the Causse Mejean

From Meyrueis to Mas St Chely (Lozere)
57km

The causse Mejean and its 33.000 hectares, and the causse of Sauveterre and its vastness are seperated by the gorges of the Tarn river. An impressive fracture, coming from some jolts and from the ravages of nature became one of the appealing places of the region. Because, it must be said, the gorges of the Tarn are located in Lozere and not in the adjacent department. The strong flow of the Tarn, bluer then the Danube, are traveled by boat and the hikers are so numerous that they give birth to a new profession, the boatmen... Some enormous boulders overlook the narrow road following the banks of the Tarn and their summits sometimes go on the causses. The causses, which we often compare to the gruyere cheese because of the large amounts of holes, sinkholes and caves, delighting the spelunker, attract a lot of tourists. These causses are wastelands, but however they allow the subsitence of thousands of sheep. Some stretches provide several moonscapes, of which the charm is undeniable. Except in the summer time, we rarely meet another human being, and if we do it is a shepherd envelopped in its large cloak for the wind, this wind which, like in Sauveterre, blows the earth along.

Roundtrip of the Causse Mejean. From Meyrueis to Mas St Chely (Lozere)

Roundtrip of the Causse Mejean. From Meyrueis to Mas St Chely (Lozere) Roundtrip of the Causse Mejean. From Meyrueis to Mas St Chely (Lozere) Roundtrip of the Causse Mejean. From Meyrueis to Mas St Chely (Lozere) Roundtrip of the Causse Mejean. From Meyrueis to Mas St Chely (Lozere) Roundtrip of the Causse Mejean. From Meyrueis to Mas St Chely (Lozere)
Google Maps - Google Earth - Wikiloc - Visugpx - Gpxview
Roundtrip of the Causse Mejean. From Meyrueis to Mas St Chely (Lozere)

IGN Maps: Aguessac Gorges du Tarn (2540E). Ste-enimie Gorges du Tarn (2639O). Gorges du Tarn et de la Jonte Causse Mejan PN des Cevennes (2640OT). Mont Aigoual le Vigan PN des Cevennes (2641ET). Millau Gorges de la Dourbie Causse Noir (2641OT).
Mobile GPX Apps

Roundtrip of the Causse Mejean. From Meyrueis to Mas St Chely (Lozere)
Roundtrip of the Causse Mejean. From Mas St Chely to Meyrueis (Lozere)

GR-Infos Hiking trails
GR Infos Long Hiking Trails in France

Hiking loops in Southern France
Hiking loops from 3 to 26km around L'Etoile
Guest House in Lozere, Ardeche and Cevennes.

Cycling loops in Southern France
Cycling loops from 16 to 95km around L'Etoile
Guesthouse in Lozere, Ardeche and Cevennes.

Regordane Way GR700
Hiking across Auvergne and Cevennes
(Haute-Loire) to Saint Gilles (Gard)

Cevennes National Park
Hiking trails, History of France

If you are the owner of a lodging or a business on or near a GR® identified on www.gr-infos.com, you can be featured on it by filling in the inscription card Long Distance Footpaths

While trying to be as accurate as possible, the route remains approximate. It is advisable to follow beacons throughout the itinerary and take with you the Federation Francaise de la Hike Pedestre topo-guide and also you can check Gites d'etape et Refuges (Guest Houses and Shelters). The information I have are all on the web-site, if you see any errors or additions Guest-House, Bed and Breakfast, Shelter or Youth Hostel, please contact me.

®Acronyms GR®PR® GRP®, and the corresponding signs of markings (white / red, yellow and yellow / red) are trademarks of the French Federation of Hiking. They may not be reproduced without permission. The French Federation of Hiking, state-approved, includes organizations that create and maintain hiking routes on GR® PR® GRP®. It publishes guides these topo hiking routes

 

 

 

Return

 

 

L'Etoile Guest-House

Old romantic Hotel, L'Etoile Guest-House is a mountain retreat in the South of France. With a beautiful park along the Allier River, L'Etoile Guesthouse is located in La Bastide-Puylaurent between Lozere, Ardeche and Cevennes. Many hiking trails like GR7, GR70 Stevenson trail, GR72, GR700 Regordane way, Cevenol, Allier river, Roujanel, Margeride, Gevaudan, Ardechoise. Many hiking loops around L'Etoile Guesthouse. The right place to relax.

Copyright © gr-infos.com All Right Reserved

Chemins de Grandes Randonnees Long hiking trails

Randonnée autour du Causse Méjean à travers la Lozère de Meyrueis à Mas Saint-Chély via Les Hérans, St Pierre-des-Tripiers, Rieisse, Rouveret, Montignac et Anilhac. Gîtes d'étapes, Chambres d'hôtes, Hôtels, Camping, Refuges, Auberges. Inscription d'un hébergement

GR Chemins de Grandes Randonnées

Tour du Causse Méjean

De Meyrueis à Mas St Chély (Lozère)
57km

Le causse Méjean et ses 33.000 hectares, le causse de Sauveterre et ses immensités sont séparés par les gorges du Tarn. Une formidable cassure, issue de quelques soubressauts, d'une mini colère de la nature et devenue un des pôles d'attraction du département. Car, il faut le dire, les gorges du Tarn se situent en Lozère et non dans le département voisin. Les eaux vives du Tarn, plus bleues que celles du Danube, sont parcourues en barque et les promeneurs sont si nombreux qu'ils ont donné naissance à une profession, celle de bateliers... D'énormes rochers surplombent la route étroite qui longe le Tarn et leurs sommets rejoignent parfois les causses. Les causses, que l'on a comparé à un fromage de gruyère parce qu'ici le sol est truffé de trous, d'avens, de grottes qui font la joie des spéléologues, attirent de très nombreux visiteurs. Ces causses sont des terres désolées, mais néanmoins capables d'assurer la subsistance de milliers de moutons. Des étendues qui présentent bien des aspects lunaires, mais dont le charme est indéniable. Hormis à la belle saison, on n'y rencontre un être humain que de loin en loin, souvent un berger enveloppé dans sa vaste cape, qui le met à l'abri du vent, de ce vent qui, comme à Sauveterre, emporte la terre.

Randonnée autour du Causse Méjean. De Meyrueis à Mas St Chély (Lozère)

Tour du Causse Méjean. De Meyrueis à Mas St Chély (Lozère) Tour du Causse Méjean. De Meyrueis à Mas St Chély (Lozère) Tour du Causse Méjean. De Meyrueis à Mas St Chély (Lozère) Tour du Causse Méjean. De Meyrueis à Mas St Chély (Lozère) Tour du Causse Méjean. De Meyrueis à Mas St Chély (Lozère)
Google Maps - Google Earth - Wikiloc - Everytrail - Visugpx - Gpxview

Mobile GPX Code
Tour du Causse Méjean. De Meyrueis à Mas St Chély (Lozère)

Cartes IGN: Aguessac Gorges du Tarn (2540E). Ste-énimie Gorges du Tarn (2639O). Gorges du Tarn et de la Jonte Causse Méjan PN des Cévennes (2640OT). Mont Aigoual le Vigan PN des Cévennes (2641ET). Millau Gorges de la Dourbie Causse Noir (2641OT).
Mobile Apps: Randomap, Oruxmaps, Barcode Scanner

Tour du Causse Méjean. De Meyrueis à Mas St Chély (Lozère)
Tour du Causse Méjean. De Mas St Chély à Meyrueis (Lozère)

GR-Infos Randonnées
GR Chemins de Grandes Randonnées

Randonnées & séjour de détente
Boucles de 3 à 26 km
en Lozère, Ardèche
et Cévennes dans le Sud de la France

Circuits à vélo & séjour de détente
Boucles de 16 à 95 km en Lozère, Ardèche
et Cévennes dans le Sud de la France

GR700 Chemin Régordane
Randonnée du Puy-en-Velay en Haute-Loire
à Saint Gilles dans le Gard

Gîtes d'étape et refuges
Hébergements pour randonneurs, alpinistes,
grimpeurs, skieurs, cyclotouristes, VTT, etc

Si vous êtes propriétaire d'un hébergement ou d'un commerce sur ou à proximité (1 km max.) d'un GR® répertorié sur www.gr-infos.com, vous pouvez y figurer en remplissant la fiche d'inscription Chemins de Grandes Randonnées

Il est conseillé de suivre les balises tout le long de votre randonnée et de vous munir du topo-guide de la Fédération Française de la Randonnée Pédestre, ainsi que de consulter le Guide des Gîtes d'étape et Refuges.

® Les sigles GR® PR® GRP®, ainsi que les signes de balisages correspondants (blanc/rouge, jaune et jaune/rouge), sont des marques déposées par la Fédération Française de la Randonnée Pédestre. Ils ne peuvent être reproduits sans son autorisation. La FFRP, reconnue d'utilité publique, regroupe les associations qui créent et entretiennent les itinéraires de randonnées pédestres sur les GR® PR® GRP®. Elle édite des topo-guides de ces itinéraires de randonnée.

Français

English

Nederlands

Deutsch

Polski

Русский

中文

L'Etoile Maison d'hôtes à La Bastide Puylaurent entre Lozère, Ardèche et Cévennes

Ancien hôtel de villégiature avec un magnifique parc au bord de l'Allier, L'Etoile se situe à La Bastide-Puylaurent entre la Lozère, l'Ardèche et les Cévennes dans les montagnes du Sud de la France. Au croisement des chemins de randonnées GR7, GR70 Chemin Stevenson, GR72, GR700 Voie Régordane, Cévenol, Gorges de l'Allier, Roujanel, Montagne Ardéchoise, Margeride, Gévaudan. Nombreuses randonnées en étoile. Idéal pour un séjour de détente.